Orzo with Parmesan and Peas

I recently plucked my first little bunch of peas from the garden.  They made me happy, and I wrote about it here.

Peas, ready to shell.

Peas, ready to shell.

Aren’t they lovely?  I set to work shelling them right away.

The bitty peas, ready to eat.

The bitty peas, ready to eat.

It was a small bunch of peas, so I didn’t have a ton of the little green beauties to work with.  Certainly not enough to just serve them with dinner.  I needed to make them go further.  A lot further.

Orzo with parmesan and peas

Orzo with parmesan and peas

I often make risotto with peas, lemon, and parmesan.  I thought that a similar approach, but made summer-friendly with orzo and fresh herbs, might be good.

This isn’t so much a recipe as a self-explanatory photo.  But here’s what I did:  I cooked half a box of orzo in boiling water, and about a minute before it was done, I added the peas to the boiling water.  I didn’t want to cook them a lot, just enough to take the raw edge off and turn them bright green.  I strained the lot, then rinsed it with cold water to eliminate the orzo’s starchy stickiness and stop the peas from cooking any further.  I tossed it all into a bowl with lemon zest, lemon juice, a little olive oil, and fresh herbs.  I used thyme, oregano, and just a bit of mint.  Peas love mint.  I then added about a quarter cup of parmesan cheese.

It was everything I hoped it would be.  But now I’m anxious for more peas to emerge from the garden.

Happy summer eating!

 

 

Leave a Reply

